Google Ads is the advertising arm of the Google search engine. It contains a paid search system, or SEM, which offers you the opportunity to pay for advertising space in Google search results, on YouTube and on over two million websites and applications. Companies can run Google Ads campaigns through a system of ads. The ads in question are then accessible in search results based on keywords entered by web users or targeting criteria predefined by the advertiser.
1- How Google Ads campaigns work
Campaigns are based on pay-per-click, pay-per-impression or pay-per-view. In the case of the Search Network, which governs media placement in results pages (SERPs), the principle is simple: marketers choose one or more targets and specify which keywords will trigger the delivery of advertising content. They then compete with other advertisers who share the same objectives.
The bids you set are maximum bids, which means they correspond to the maximum price you're willing to pay for an ad. To give you an example, if your maximum bid is set at $8 and Google determines that your cost per click is $4, the ad placement will be yours. And if Google determines that your CPC is higher than $4, the ad placement will not be returned to you.
Whether automatic or manual, bidding strategy maximizes clicks, conversions or traffic. Google Ads management is based on instantaneous performance (search conditions, competitors' proposals), while manual bidding requires precise knowledge of your results and your market.
This HubSpot article explains in detail the different types of bidding for Google Ads campaigns.
Then there's ad ranking, which is defined by quality level and bid amount. It concerns the position in which your ad will be displayed on the search results page. When a user sees your ad and clicks on it, you pay a fee for that click. The higher the click-through rate on your ad, the more likely you are to achieve your objective.
2- The different types of Google Ads campaigns
Google Ads lets you choose from different types/varieties of campaigns to create your ad. All these different campaign types are divided into four main ad categories with their own networks:
In the Search network, ads are displayed in text form on the results page for a given keyword, in this case "sports sneaker":
These are the ads you're probably most familiar with, as they are represented on the search results page by the "Ad/Ads" symbol.
However, there are different types of ads than text ads on the search network. You can also run your ads on Google Shopping, which will be available as images on the search results page, usually displayed first in the results:
You can also click directly on the "shopping" tab for a wider choice:
Both campaign categories have their own interests. However, if you sell a physical product, you can achieve better results with Google Shopping ads, which present your product directly to consumers.
The Display network makes use of Google's vast network. Your ads can then be displayed in a variety of ways on over 2 million websites. Firstly, you can publish your ads on websites like the one below:
But you can also publish them as pre-roll videos before YouTube videos, as here for example:
You can also publish your ads directly on the Gmail messaging platform provided by Google.
And finally, your ad can also be displayed in various applications on Google's network of partner applications, as shown below:
The advantages of the Display network are manifold. In terms of coverage, Google works with over two million websites, covering no less than 90% of all Internet users. Thanks to this network, you can be sure that your ad will be seen by as many visitors as possible.
Ad types are truly varied, since you're free to choose whether to publish text, video or images.
Display campaigns also allow you to exclude a list of websites where you don't want your ad to appear.
If you're careful about the location of your ads, the Display network may well make it easier for you to reach potential customers or prospects.
3- How to create your Google Ads campaigns in 2 steps?
Step 1 :
Step 2:
→ You've created your campaign!
4- The advertising cost of your Google Ads campaigns
The cost of your Google ad is determined by the quality of your site and the daily budget you're willing to spend. The overall cost therefore differs from one ad to another.
To find out the cost of your Google ad, you first need to understand the ad bidding system.
As mentioned above, ad positioning is based on ranking. This is where the bidding system comes in. When a visitor searches for a keyword you've targeted, Google immediately starts bidding and compares your ad's ranking with that of all the other advertisers who have targeted that keyword.
However, it's not enough to have a large advertising budget and high bids to rank well. Google's ad bidding and ranking systems focus on websites and landing pages that are most relevant to consumers, as well as those that offer the highest level of quality.
As a result, your CPC (cost per click) may be lower than that of a large international company with a big advertising budget, and this is only because your ad is of much higher quality, and historically, the level of engagement with it is higher.
Don't hesitate to call on our team of experts fordigital marketing coaching and training to help you become more self-sufficient in managing your Google Ads campaigns, or to entrust us with the management of your media placement strategy.